Wednesday Review | I hunt killers & Game | Barry Lyga

2014-06-22 20.31.20

 

A short note beforehand:

When it comes to titles, we Germans are weird. We don’t translate English titles. Ever. Every damn time I read a book or watch a movie in German, which I don’t do very often, because of the horrible translation, the title is completely different. As you can see on the picture above, the books are called ‘I soll nicht töten’ (lit. I shall not kill) and ‘Blut von meinem Blut’ (lit. Blood of my blood). I have no idea why the Germans keep doing it, because most of the time the new titles make no sense at all. I mean, why not translate Game? Why? We have a word for it! [It’s Spiel if you’re interested.]

But enough about it. I just wanted to tell you why the books are called differently.

 

Rating

5 out of 5 & 5 out of 5

Title

I hunt killers (#1) & Game (#2)

Author

Barry Lyga

Year of release

2012 & 2013

Part of book series | If so, which one?

Jasper Dent

Genre

Young Adult, Thriller

Blurb

I Hunt Killers

What if the world’s worst serial killer…was your dad?

Jasper “Jazz” Dent is a likable teenager. A charmer, one might say.

But he’s also the son of the world’s most infamous serial killer, and for Dear Old Dad, Take Your Son to Work Day was year-round. Jazz has witnessed crime scenes the way cops wish they could—from the criminal’s point of view.

And now bodies are piling up in Lobo’s Nod.

In an effort to clear his name, Jazz joins the police in a hunt for a new serial killer. But Jazz has a secret—could he be more like his father than anyone knows?

goodreads.com

 

Game

Billy grinned. “Oh, New York,” he whispered. “We’re gonna have so much fun.”

I Hunt Killers introduced the world to Jazz, the son of history’s most infamous serial killer, Billy Dent.

In an effort to prove murder didn’t run in the family, Jazz teamed with the police in the small town of Lobo’s Nod to solve a deadly case. And now, when a determined New York City detective comes knocking on Jazz’s door asking for help, he can’t say no. The Hat-Dog Killer has the Big Apple–and its police force–running scared. So Jazz and his girlfriend, Connie, hop on a plane to the big city and get swept up in a killer’s murderous game.

goodreads.com

Opinion

I’m very picky, when it comes down to thrillers, I think. And I hunt killers (Jasper Dent #1) was more a coincidence, actually. It was sheer luck. I desperately needed a book for a literary criticism, I had to write for the university. I haven’t written it after all, because time… well, time wasn’t there. It is never when it comes down to university – or I just have poor time management skills. Probably the last.

But, that’s not what I want to talk about.

I picked a book at random, read its backside and thought: Well, why not?

What I hadn’t expected was that the book is simply amazing. I think I’ve never – or at least in a long, long time – read a thriller like this. It just has everything a good book needs:

  • Well-elaborated characters:
  1. Jazz, the protagonist, is the son of the most infamous serial killer known and one multi-faceted teenager. He has to remind himself on a daily basis that ‘humans are real’ and that ‘they matter’. He’s afraid to become a serial killer himself and hears his father in his head.
  2. Howie is Jazz’ sarcastic and weird, but very lovable best friend. He is a haemophiliac, and uses Jasper’s body to get what he always wanted: tattoos.
  3. Connie is Jazz’ I-want-to-be-badass girlfriend. She is Afro-American, and, besides Howie, one of the people, who keeps Jazz connected to his ‘human side’ – but I don’t like her, which doesn’t mean she isn’t well written. She is a teenage girl, obsessing over a bad boy. In her case: the ultimate bad boy. The thing bugging me about her? She tries too hard, way too hard – and she get what she deserves in book #2. Well, too bad…
  4. Jazz’ grandmother is senile, crazy and somewhat racist, who he lives in a house with.

 

  • Great storyline:
  1. Jazz, while trying to convince not only him but everyone else in his hometown that he’s not a killer like his father, helps the police find a serial killer, who’s copying the kills of Dear Old Dad. [I hunt killers]
  2. Jazz, who has still trouble with his past and identity, helps the FBI in New York to catch the serial killer and gets in the midst of a game. Oh yeah, his father’s in New York, too. [Game]

 

  •  A great writing style, which I’d love to give you an example for, but unfortunately, I bought both books in German. One, of my poorer choices in life.

All in all: Barry Lyga has the skills, ladies and gentlemen.

I’ve read the book in two nights, I think. Actually, I’ve read both books in four nights, because I couldn’t stop but I had to eventually. (You know, the whole concept about sleeping and going to the university.)

The whole time I was equally afraid for Jazz and of Jazz. He’s brilliant and smart and talented, but he has a lot of worryingly dark thoughts.

Both books are brilliant. And while the first one had more of what you can call an ending, the second has a cliff-hanger. But not a simple cliff-hanger but one of those ‘I-hate-you-so-much-why-would-you-do-something-like-that?!’- cliff-hanger.

The only thing bugging me? The wait for part three.

 

Quotes

I hunt killers

  • Jazz hadn’t given her many details of exactly what life in the Dent house had been like, but he’d told her enough that she knew it wasn’t hearts and flowers. Well, except for the occasional heart cut from a chest. And the kind of flowers you send to funerals.
  • Jazz spent a chunk of the day fantasizing about ways to kill his grandmother, plotting them and planning them in the most excruciating, gruesome detail his imagination would allow. It turned out his imagination allowed quite a bit. He spent the rest of the day convincing himself–over and over–not to do it.”
  • “Who am I? I’ll tell you. I’m the local psychopath, and if you don’t save my best friend’s life, I will hunt down everyone you’ve ever cared about in your life and make you watch while I do things to them that will have you begging me to kill them. That’s who I am.” – Jazz
  • “Are you saying when you’re at school you just want to get rid of everyone?” – Connie to Jazz
  • “What if the whole thing was just an accident?” – Howie
    “And what? Accidentally cut off three fingers postmortem? ‘Oops, oh no, my girlfriend just died! Clumsy me, in trying to perform CPR, I chopped off some fingers! Guess I’ll take them with me…Oh, darn, where did that middle finger go?’” – Jazz

Game

  • Anger was a waste of time and energy. Anger was useless. “Anger” was the label given to the emotion that accomplished nothing.
  • If I think she’ hot and it turns out she’s a psychopath, then what does that say about me? I’m totally not ready for that kind of therapy. – Howie
  • She screamed. Her screaming was beautiful. But, truth be told he missed the crying.

 

What are your thoughts on the books? If you haven’t read them yet, do it… now!

If you liked the review, it would mean the world to us, if you leave a like!

Have a wonderful day! [:

xx Li & La

Follow us on twitter @LiLas_World_

Leave a Reply

