Wednesday Review | Percy Jackson & The Olympians #1 | Rick Riordan

percy-jackson1

 

Title

Percy Jackson & The Olympians #1

Subtitle

The Lightning Thief

Author

Rick Riordan

Year of release

2005

Part of book series | If so, which one?

Book one | Percy Jackson & The Olympians

Genre

Fantasy | Young Adult | Greek Mythology

Reason, why I picked it up

I’m a little late on the whole Percy Jackson train, but I always wanted to read the books. Usually, I first read the books & than watch the movies. This time it was the other way around.

Blurb

Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school… again. And that’s the least of his troubles. Lately, mythological monsters and the gods of Mount Olympus seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy’s Greek mythology textbook and into his life. And worse, he’s angered a few of them. Zeus’ master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect.

Now Percy and his friends have just ten days to find and return Zeus’ stolen property and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. But to succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

 

 

MainCharacters [Short profile]

Name:                        Percy Jackson

Age:                           Twelve

Race:                          Demigod

Family:

  • Father:           Poseidon
  • Mother:         Sally Jackson

Abilities:                   Control over water

Magic Objects:         Riptide

 

Name:                        Annabeth Chase

Age:                           Twelve

Race:                          Demigod

Family:

  • Father:           Frederick Chase
  • Mother:         Athena

Abilities:                   Scheming

Magic Objects:         Yankees’ cap, which makes the wearer invisible

 

Name:                        Grover Underwood

Age:                           13 | 26

Race:                          Satyr

Family:

  • Father:           Daddy Goat
  • Grandma:      Granny Goat
  • Uncle:            Uncle Ferdinand

Abilities:                   Talk to animals | smell monsters

Magic Objects:         Reed Pipes

 

Name:                        Luke Castellan

Age:                           19

Race:                          Demigod

Family:

  • Father:           Hermes
  • Mother:         May Castellan
  • Siblings:        Hermes‘ Cabin

Abilities:                   Manipulation

Magic Objects:         Backbiter

 

Opinion

Ilove the book, although at first I was a little confused that Percy’s only twelve years old. Because, yeah, Logan Lerman may look young, but even he doesn’t look like he’s twelve. Plus, they drive a car in the movie. So yeah, definitely not twelve. But the age hadn’t bothered me anymore after the second page. I’d completely forgotten about it [I actually love it, to be quite honest. It fits so well with the story line and the characters Riordan had created].

Why? Because I love Riordan’s writing style, and usually I don’t like a first-person narrator. I don’t know why exactly that is, maybe because I’d read a lot of crappy novels with a first-person narrator. So yes, I have prejudices [Twilight was just the icing on the cake. Gruesome…]. But I read it anyway, so whatever. Riordan may have proved me wrong, there are good first-person narrator on this earth, but I will still be hesitant about other books in this style.

Okay, so back to the main topic. I love Riordan’s writing style. It is so very easy to connect to Percy. I was worried about the ADHD, but it blends in well. You feel and acknowledged it, without being smothered or confused by it. Yet, sometimes I missed some details to get me more into the story, although he did pretty well. I was very intrigued, and I can tell you: That’s not easy. I have very high standards for books [and movies and games].

Personally, I’m very interested in Greek Mythology, and it’s simply amazing, how Riordan manages to give information without actually explaining tons and tons of back stories. Since the Greek Mythology is tightly interwoven, and it isn’t easy to understand one thing and one thing only completely, because there’s at least three other things and gods and stories connected to it. But Riordan managed to explain everything just fine. You learn what you have to learn to understand the story, and don’t feel crushed by too much knowledge.

The characters have grown over the book. Especially Annabeth and Percy, Grover did, too, but I haven’t realised it as much. I liked, how Annabeth had left with Percy, because of what a prophecy had said, but told him after a while that she’d fought with him, because he’s her friend. You feel, how they slowly grow closer, and how they become more mature.

What I like, too, are the titles of the chapters. They are cute and fit very well. They just make everything more like you see it through the eyes of a twelve year old boy, with ADHD.

I’m really, really glad I read the book, and I will continue with the others, too.   

 

Quotes

Deadlines just aren’t real to me until I’m staring one in the face.”

It’s funny how humans can wrap their mind around things and fit them into their version of reality.”

Knowing too much of your future is never a good thing.”

Even strength must bow to wisdom sometimes.”

The real world is where the monsters are.”

I gave her my deluxe I’ll-Kill-You-Later stare.”

Extract

Extract 1

Look, I didn’t want to be a half-blood.

If you’re reading this because you think you might be one, my advice is: close this book right now. Believe whatever lie your mom or dad told you about your birth, and try to lead a normal life.

Being a half-blood is dangerous. It’s scary. Most of the time, it gets you killed in painful, nasty ways.

If you’re a normal kid, reading his because you think it’s fiction, great. Read on. I envy you for being able to believe that none of this ever happened.

But if you recognize yourself in these pages – if you feel something stirring inside – stop reading immediately. You might be one of us. And once you know that, it’s only a matter of time before they   sense it too, and they’ll come for you.

Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

 

Excerpt 2

Someone was shaking me.

My eyes opened, and it was daylight.

“Well,” Annabeth said, “the zombie lives.”

I was trembling from the dream. I could still feel the grip of the chasm monster around my chest. “How long was I asleep?”

“Long enough for me to cook breakfast.” Annabeth tossed me a bag of nacho-flavored corn chips from Aunty Em’s snack bar. “And Grover went exploring. Look, he found a friend.”

My eyes had trouble focusing.

Grover was sitting cross-legged on a blanket with something fuzzy in his lap, a dirty unnaturally pink stuffed animal.

No. It wasn’t a stuffed animal. It was a pink poodle.

The poodle capped at me suspiciously. Grover said, “No, he’s not.”

I blinked. “Are you… talking to that thing?”

The poodle growled.

“This thing”, Grover warned, “is our ticket west. Be nice to him.”

“You can talk to animals?”

Grover ignored the question. “Percy, meet Gladiola. Gladiola, Percy.”

I stared at Annabeth, figuring she’d crack up at this practical joke they were playing on me, but she looked deadly serious.

“I’m not saying hello to a pink poodle,” I said. “Forget it.”

“Percy,” Annabeth said. “I said hello to the poodle. You say hello to the poodle.”

The poodle growled.

I said hello to the poodle.

Leave a Reply

