Wednesday Review: The Maze Runner [LiLa Reads The World]

 

The_Maze_Runner_cover

Title:                                    The Maze Runner

Author:                               James Dashner

Year:                                    2009

Series:                                 Part 1 [The Maze Runner Series]

Genre:                                 Dystopian, Science Fiction, Young Adult

Reasons I read it: 

Actually, the book was practically shoved in my face. I’ve never heard of it before I’d seen the trailer for the movie. And since I’m quiet obsessed with Dylan O’Brien [This man is freaking talented, just saying] I decided to read the book before I’m going to watch the movie.

Plus, the story sounded [and still sounds] very interesting!

Blurb:

Everything is going to change…

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his first name. He has no recollection of his parents, his home, or how he got where he is. His memory is empty.

But he’s not alone. When the lift’s doors open, Thomas find himself surrounded by kids who welcome him to the Glade, a large expanse enclosed by stone walls.

Just like Thomas, the Gladers don’t know why or how they got to the Glade. All they know is that every morning, for as long as anyone can remember, the stone doors to the maze surrounds them have opened. Every night, for just as ling, they’ve closed tight. Every thirty days anew boy is delivered in the lift. And no one wants to be stuck in the Maze after dark.

The Gladers were expecting Thomas’s arrival. But the next day, a girls is sent up – the first girl ever to arrive in the Glade. And more surprising yet is the message she delivers. The Gladers have always been convinced that if they can solve the maze that surrounds the Glade, they might find their way home… wherever that may be. But it’s looking more and more as if the Maze is unsolvable.

And something about the girl’s arrival is starting to make Thomas feel different. Something is telling him that he just might have some answers – if he can only find a way to retrieve the dark secrets locked within is win mind.

 

Main Characters: 

Name:                  Thomas

Age:                      16

Occupation:       ‘Greenie’ | Runner

[Portrayed by:  Dylan O’Brien]

 

Name:                  Minho

Age:                      17

Occupation:       Keeper of the Runners

[Portrayed by:                  Ki Hong Lee]

 

Name:                  Newt

Age:                      16|17

Occupation:       Second-in-command

[Portrayed by:  Thomas Brodie – Sangster]

 

Name:                  Chuck

Age:                      12|13

Occupation:       Slopper

[Portrayed By:  Blake Cooper]

 

Name:                  Alby

Age:                      17

Occupation:       Leader of the Gladers

[Portrayed by:  Aml Ameen]

 

Name:                  Teresa

Age:                      17

Occupation:       –

[Portrayed by:  Kaya Scodelario]

 

Quotes:

“I just… feel like I have to save everyone. To redeem myself.” – Thomas

“It’s kind of hard to ask a dead guy what he did wrong.” – Minho

“I promised him! I promised I’d save him, take him home! I promised him!” – Thomas

“You are the shuckiest shuck-faced shuck there ever was!” – Minho

“Just follow me and run like your life depends on it. Because it does.” – Minho

“If you ain’t scared you ain’t human.” – Alby

“Be careful. Don’t die.” – Minho

“Great, we’re all bloody inspired.” – Newt

 

My Thoughts:

So, like I said before, I hadn’t known a lot since before the trailer for the movie, but I was intrigued immediately. I love Dashner’s writing style. It’s brilliant. I felt everything he described and had no problems to feel with Thomas, to look at the things he looked and to think the thoughts he thought.He made me feel imprisoned, not only in the story but inside the Glade and the Maze, too.

I remember all too well how my heart hammered in my chest more than once. The ‘up-tempo’ scenes made me feel breathless. It was a great experience.

With Thomas I fell in love the moment I knew his name, to be quiet honest. He was so human and even more real it was hard not to. He fought, he cried, he made mistakes and he was a curious as myself.

The same happened to Minho. He’s mouthy and a smartass, but smart and human, too. I love how he changed over the time of the first book, how he stopped being cold and showed his true face.

Newt and I needed a few moments, but I loved him, too, in the end. Chuck was too cute and too amazing not to like, and Alby was a dickhead, but I forgave him. He’d a hard time.

Who I did not like, though, was Teresa. Maybe it’s a personal thing, because I hardly like any female protagonist. Maybe it’ll change over the course of the next few books, but right now, she’s too perfect for me. Cool and collected. I never believed her, when she said, she’s afraid.

The story is brilliant and full of surprises and turns. It never failed to amaze me, and I was never bored. Every page was thrilling and exciting. I cannot wait to read the second book.

The ending surprised me – positive.  I’d totally recommend the book for people who like dystopian stories with a twist.

Excerpt 1:

He began his new life standing up, surrounded by cold darkness and stale, dusty air.

Metal ground against metal; a lurching shudder shook the floor beneath him. He fell down at the sudden movement and shuffled backward on his hands and feet, drops of sweat beading on his forehead despite the cool air. His back struck a hard metal wall; he slid along until he hit the corner of the room. Sinking to the floor, he pulled his legs up tight against his body, hoping his eyes would soon adjust to the darkness.

With another jolt, the room jerked upward like an old lift in a mine shaft.

Harsh sounds of chains and pulleys, like the workings of an ancient steel factory, echoed through the room, bouncing off the walls with a hollow, tinny whine. The lightless elevator swayed back and forth as it ascended, turning the boy’s stomach sour with nausea; a smell like burnt oil invaded his senses, making him feels worse. He wanted to cry, but no tears came; he could only sit there, alone, waiting.

My name is Thomas, he thought.

That… that was the only thing he could remember about his life.

Excerpt 2:

A half hour passed.

Neither Thomas nor Minho had moved an inch.

Thomas had finally stopped crying; he couldn’t help wondering what Minho would think of him, of if he’d tell the others, calling him a sissy. But there wasn’t a shred of self-control left in him; he couldn’t have prevented the tears, he knew that. Despite his lack of memory, he was sure he’d just been through the most traumatic night of his life. And his sore hands and utter exhaustion didn’t help.

Excerpt 3:

Thomas couldn’t take it anymore. Ignoring Newt’s questions, he stumbled to the door and yanked it open, stepped into the hall, ran. Down the stairs, out the front door, he ran. But it did nothing to shut her up.

[…], she said.

He wanted to scream, run until he could run no more. He made it to the East Door and sprinted through it, out of the Glade. Kept going, through corridor after corridor, deep into the heart of the Maze, rules or no rules. But he still couldn’t escape the voice.

One thought on “Wednesday Review: The Maze Runner [LiLa Reads The World]

Leave a Reply

