Revenge (Tv-Series)

Revenge (Tv-Series) 

This is not a story about forgiveness.  – Emily Thorne

 

So ‘Revenge’ is a series I yesterday watched the last episode of and I can truly say, I was absolutely amazed by it.

Actually, I started to watch Revenge a while ago but stopped, because I thought it was pretty, well, boring. So, thanks to my semester break, I gave it another chance – and was hooked. The show is amazing. Truth be told: It starts with a bang and then slows down for a few episodes. But it is so worth watching.

For those who do not know what the story is about: A young woman named Emily Thorne (portrayed by Emily VanCamp) has moved to the Hamptons. Through a friend she meets the Grayson family and in particular their son Daniel (portrayed by Joshua Bowman), who she spilled her drink on. Soon it gets clear that Emily has a dark past. Her real name is Amanda Clarke and she is the daughter of the as a terrorist framed David Clarke. She was nine year old, when her life was torn apart. After a troubled childhood she finds out that her father was falsely accused. Emily is determined to seek vengeance on the people who destroyed her fathers and her own life: Conrad and Victoria Grayson (portrayed by Henry Czerny and Madeleine Stowe).

For the innocent, the past may hold a reward, but for the treacherous it’s only a matter of time before the past delivers what they truly deserve. – Emily Thorne.

The story sounds easy, but it is not, well, not really. There are not just those two targets (Conrad and Victoria Grayson) but a whole bunch of other, which have helped in one way or another to frame David Clarke. It is amazing how everything makes sense after a while.

One thing I truly adore is the dysfunctional friendship of Nolan Ross (portrayed by Gabriel Mann) and Emily Thorne. It seems that she is just using him and he is only determined to help her because of her father (which in the beginning might be true, because Emily is everything but nice to him and he stays nonetheless). As the story unfolds and the plot thickens, Nolan and she became sort of very close friends. Although Emily has evidence to blackmail him at one point in time and threatened him, too, he stays at her side. In fact he refers to her as ‘the only real family he ever had’ later in the series. He sometimes acts as her conscience and seems to be the only one who can get through to her, when she is about to go too far.

The season two finale ended with a bang and I cannot tell what could happen next – something that appears to be a regular thing in this series. Emily is plotting a lot and you never know, who is going to be her next target. So you may or may not be surprised what is happening.

Another thing I really like about ‘Revenge’ is that you do not fall in love (or hate) with every character easily. You roll your eyes at some and after a while you just hope that they will be all right. It’s amazing how you see the character grow up and change.

The greatest change happens to Jack Porter (portrayed by Nick Wechsler), Amanda’s childhood friend and one true love. I cannot tell what the reason for his change is exactly (because otherwise I will spoil the series) but he is about to make a 180 degree turn – and it is heart breaking and so easy to understand. I couldn’t help myself but hope, he is going to succeed.

Other characters I liked at first but started to hate after a while. Just like Ashley Davenport (portrayed by Ashley Madekwe). I won’t say too much about her change, too, because she kind of has a very important role. The only thing I will say about her, that she knows exactly what she is doing.

What I don’t like so much about the show is, that they killed a whole bunch of people within a way too small amount of time (that happened near the middle/end of season two, be prepared if you watch it!). I won’t tell you who and how. Well, I do understand why some of them had to die, but one of the victims I do not get. I really do not and probably never will, except season three is going to tell me why the heck they had to do it?!

Well, that’s about it, actually. I will update on my thoughts when season three is over. I cannot really say much about it right now. It is as good as one. Going back to the roots and stuff, but I feel like there is too much unnecessary drama. I am not quite sure. But we’ll see how it ends. At least it is back on track, right?

 

Always question where your loyalities lie – Amanda Clarke

 

xx kitten

Leave a Reply

